Posted by: pation | August 1, 2010

Guess Who I Just Made A Disciple

Yesterday I went to a place in Compostela and when I arrived I saw a lady in a nearby house washing her clothes. And when I saw her I felt compassion and I approach her and I ask her how is she. I sat down with her and at the same time I help her wash her clothes. We talk and talk until we’re led by the spirit to talk about spiritual things. So I shared to her about salvation. Here is a detailed account.

“Do you know that God has already saved you?” I told her. “God send His Son Jesus into the world because of His love to us and Jesus died on the cross to pay for our sin. And because of that there is no work of man on his own that can saved him.”

“Do you believe on this? Are you saved now?” I continue.

“It’s hard to believe because man is not worth to be saved because of his sin.” She answered.

“Jesus paid for it all, even the sin in our past, present and future.”

“What if I sin again?”

“No person is perfect. But if you sin, you ask forgiveness to Jesus and He will forgive you of your sin.”

“Really?”

“Yah, you just have to know the truth. There’s nothing you can do about it, it is done.”

And she nodded her head. “How about going to church? Do I still have to go and worship the image?” She’s a Roman Catholic.

“A building became a church because there are people there who worship God. If people going there to see a cock-fighting game, what will you call it? It’s a cock-fighting arena right?” She continued listening.

“But Jesus said something about worship. The true worshippers will worship in spirit and in truth. And where is the Spirit of God now? He is living inside those who follow Him. They will become a church because the Spirit of God lives in them.”

Everything I said is quite new to her ears but she listens intently and with interest to know more. God is present in our conversation. She opens her heart to hear me speak God’s Word.

“But isn’t it the image [statue] are mere symbols but my heart and mind is with God?” She inquire.

“God is a spirit and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and in truth.” I answered. “Do you know what the greatest commandment? It is to love God above all and loving your neighbor. This is worship. Worship is not going to church and trying to please God. He is God already. But loving Him is loving our neighbor. This is what pleases Him.”

“So, the 10 Commandment was gone now?” She asked.

“The 10 Commandments is an Old Testament Covenant. Jesus fulfilled them and He summarizes it into two: Loving God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, with all your strength.

“Oh I see.”

“So, now I will ask you again. Are you saved?”

“Yes.” She replied.

“Why?”

“Because my sin was paid by God in that cross. Because of that my sin is no more.” She said.

“Now, at this very moment that you believe and know this. You are truly saved indeed.”

As I shared these words to her, there are women around in the well also and they all hear me speaks. And several men playing card games are around also.One of them is my father with them. So, as we have this conversation I purposely speak in a loud voice so that everyone could hear us.

I just made my brother Ranel a disciple of Jesus and baptizes him a 2 month ago [June 2]

This lady’s name who I just had a conversation is Maria Modesta Pati-on.

And she is my beloved mother.

[I just had a second conversation with her, watch out, I may baptize her sooner!]


Leave a comment

Categories